In My House… There is Gospel House!

preview011015

“Raise a song and strike the timbrel, the pleasant harp with the lute” Psalm 81:2

Gospel House!

I got a call from my son last week asking me about a piece of art I had done in my series Church Lady. He said  he saw a podcast that had my art featured on it. He said it looked  like my art. I went to the site to see if it was my art. It was, and I was really honored. I love Gospel House music. To think that my art could symbolize house music is  amazing.  It was a podcast for Gospel house music! Turn it on while you read the article! You will feel the joy from Gospel house

http://housemusicvibes.podomatic.com/player/web/2011-02-06T06_52_31-08_00

Gospel House

imagesCAQ9GOUTIn my house there is house music.  House is the most vibrant, exhilarating , and inspirational music I have heard. My son Jamile introduced all of us to house music several years ago.  My daughter Jasmine  became a house head flowing after her brother. She took it to a whole new level for all of us.  Then I followed shortly after and Ramon.  My favorite form of house is Gospel house. It uplifts the soul. We can all be found in the living room dancing to house and stepping high. My footwork is not the best, but it is the joy of hearing praise to God with such instrumentals. In the Bible  David praised God.

 

We love House Dancing!!!!!!!!!

“Let them praise his name in the dance: let them sing praises unto him                                     with the timbrel and harp.” Psalm 149:3

He wrote 70 of the 150 Psalms. Korah and Asaph wrote the rest. David created over 1000 instruments to praise God with. He had a choir of 10,000+ singing praises to God all day. The men were on one side and the women were on the other. The choir and praises to God were so important that there was lodging for the members of his choir and band to keep praise going up to God all day, 24 hours of praise and worship. David was  a true worshiper and praise! My friend Cheryl Simms of Columbus, Ohio first taught me to turn my dance into praise for God. She had a dance ministry that went all over Columbus. I danced with her several times. She freed me up to dance the first day I met her. I produced a play at the Martin Luther King Center that years(1990). She came and expressed such encouragement for my dance. I had taken ballet and modern in college. I started dancing and performing when I was 14. My love for music and playing in jazz bands took over my dance. My art has always been first. Cheryl taught me the names and movements of dance. Till this day I owe her greatly for bringing the dancer for God out of me. I also give credit to Eric Barnes and Angeline Austin! They encouraged me to praise Him in dance! We house danced all the time in MY HOUSE!!!

“And David danced before the LORD with all his might; and                                                       David was girded with a linen ephod.”  2 Samuel 6:14

Here area few words for Praise in Music and Dance in Hebrew:

Zamar-to touch the strings or parts of a musical instrument i.e. play upon it, to make music accompanied by the voice, to celebrate in song and music, give praise, sing forth praises, psalms

Zemar-instrumental music

Zemirah-a song to be accompanied by instrumental music

Zimrah-a musical piece, song to be accompanied by an instrument, melody, psalm

Chagag-to move in a circle, to march in a sacred procession, to observe a festival, to be giddy, celebrate, dance, to keep or hold a solemn feast (holiday), to reel to and fro

Giyl-a revolution (of time and age), exceeding joy, gladness, greatly, rejoice

Barak-to kneel or bow, to give reverence to God as an act of adoration, implies a continual conscious giving place to God, to be attuned to him and his presence

Guwl-to spin around, under the influence of any violent emotion

Hallal-to praise, to make a show or rave about, to glory in or boast upon, to be clamorously foolish about you adoration of God

Ranan-to creak, to emit a stridulous sound, to shout aloud for joy

Shuwr-strolling minstrelsy, to sing, singer (man or woman)

Tehillah-to sing hallal, a new song, a hymn of spontaneous praise glorifying God in song

Yadah-to use, hold out the hand, to throw (a stone or arrow) at or away, to revere or worship (with extended hands, praise thankful, thanksgiving

A Baltimore Club Break!!!!

House has a history like all forms of music. It came out of Chicago during the 80’s. It has branched into so many forms of House music since then. Frankie Knuckles is the Godfather of House. The Paradise Garage in NYC however took  it to the level it is at today with Frankie Knuckles, Jesse Saunders, Leonard Remix, Walter Gibbons, and others. Its roots come from the disco scene of Blacks, Latinos, and the gay community. Its energy comes from jazz, funk, R&B, and Gospel. The roots go back, dating back to the turn of the century.

The term house came from the venue it was in: Nightclubs and Warehouses. House music combines electronic,  instruments, vocals, and unique arrangements of  drums  for a steady beat. In House you can hear the chords used in Gospel and jazz very clearly. It is some of the happiest music I have ever heard. When I hear house I want to smile and dance till  I can’t dance any more. As a  Christian it is the praise I was looking for to lift up Jesus.

inaya_dayGospel house reminds me of the joy in heaven we will have as we all try to make it over to  His glory. I first fell in love with Barbara Tucker, Master of Work, Paul Oakenfield, Danny Tengalia.  Miguel Migs,  Cajmere,, DJ Sneak, Ministry of Sound,Denniss, Ferrer, and Martha Washington. They broke the ice for me in loving House.  Now I am loving Gospel house artists who are bringing  the praise: Inaya Day, Beverly Trotman, Dance4Daddy, DJ Spen, K.T Brooks, and so many more!

Gospel House Site!

 http://housemusicvibes.podomatic.com/player/web/2011-02-06T06_52_31-08_00

Since then I  love it all. It  is pure praise to God with instruments, heart, and joy! My next CD this summer will be my first Gospel House CD, I will self produce. Look for it. Until then …. join us! Become a house head and dance your pain away! Give God the highest praise in your dance and heart. If you lean back and listen you will feel such happiness that you will catch yourself smiling….. These are days when we need to smile and look to heaven for strength. I have church every time I put on Gospel house. And that is every day!!!! Praise Him! He is so worthy of our praise!!! Let Gospel house help you lift  Him up with the highest praise. Let the joy come in!

 

 

Leave a Reply

