Loving Music, Gotta Make It!

 music man_fc

Art is my first love, music is my second! I started creating art the minute I was old enough to hold a pencil and lay down my drinky cup. I grew up in a house filled with music. I started playing piano when I was very young. I fell in love with music. When I was in my teens I was playing about 5 instruments in the band. I took private jazz piano lessons across town for $3.00 an hour. I was in heaven. One of my favorite pastimes was buying sheet music and learning new songs. The first song I tried to learn was by Dionne Warwick, ‘Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head’. It had a beautiful piano arrangement. By the time I got to junior high I was playing in the jazz band on piano, viola in the orchestra, flute in the teen concert band, and percussion in the African ensemble. In high school my greatest joy was marching band. I love to dance, play, and move to music. My school was ghetto but it was great. I loved watching the cheerleaders put out their cigarettes, and start the night. I saw fist fights and stabbing behind the bleachers. Those days were heaven. There’s nothing like running to the band bus while the police chase down a few killers on the field. Being in our inner city band was an inspiring experience. I went to college in Colorado with hopes of playing in the college marching band. When I got there I found out that band was cancelled for the year. But I never gave up my love for music.

delta12011Over the years I have played in a few jazz bands a

and performed on my own. I produced my first CD last year. ‘A Side Order of Praise’. I am working on a second. I am composing music now more with software, but to me it is still music. I hope to record solo piano pieces live next year. Until then music is married to art in my soul. I created my first music video below. I love funk, classical, gospel and alternative music. Hope you enjoy my first music video to a song I created on my next CD ‘Smile 4 Funk’. The new CD will be released this Fall 2011. Time For Funk……( Artwork above..”Music Man” by Janie McGee and “ Delta Blues” By Janie McGee)

One thought on “Loving Music, Gotta Make It!

  1. Pingback: Music Man Classic StingRay Electric Bass Guitar with Case

Leave a Reply

