G.O.D – Guaranteed Ontime Delivery

clip_image001

Many years ago we live in Owings Mills, Maryland. We relocated to Maryland back in 2000 from Colorado. We wanted our kids to have more culture so we moved east. It was very hard making the adjustment to Maryland. Colorado is a pretty serine place. It was hard learning a new place and surviving the higher cost of living. My kids enjoyed experiencing the east coast. Jamile started opening for major artist with several crews he was in. Jasmine was thriving in school and writing… But it was a very hard time. My husband worked for several major companies in the area. There were jobs he dreamed of having. He achieved his dream. He was beginning his career as proposal writer. I was raising kids, running my business, and praying very hard every day for guidance.

If you never lived on the east coast, it would be hard to explain. Every day life and ever task becomes a challenge. After awhile you can adjust. However the initial shock can break your mind off. Our finances were skimmed some days. We had to adjust to new place, new people, and a new lifestyle. Jamile attended an Arts school across town that was 45 minutes away. I drove him there every day and picked him up in the afternoons. No school bus went that way. Jasmines attend a school around the corner however it was not safe for her to walk there alone. It was really nice neighborhood. I believe   sometimes there is more crime in safe communities you can’t see. So I truck back across town and take her to school. Ramon worked outside of Washington DC for ManTech/ Goddard space.  He commuted every day. I dropped him off at the train station first thing in the morning before the kids we up. I was always in the car driving and praying.

After every one was in place for a few hours I spent time with God, clean the house, painted art, wrote books and ministered as need to friends who called. By the time I was through, it was 2 o’clock. I jumped back in the car and picked every one up before 6 pm that night. It was difficult schedule but I needed to make sure my family was in place for their future.

faith Some day I was burden down and distresses. If Ramon had missed his train connection I drove everyone to school and the drove him to DC using the back roads. The traffic on I-95 and I-695 is nightmare in the morning. On the ways back while in prayer and weeping before the lord I was always blessed by what I consider a sign from God. To anyone else it may have been a truck passing by. To me it was faith in God that he would answer my prayers. It was a large white truck that had on the side of it “G.O.D”. At first I thought that was kind of weird and bold. As I looked closer I saw what it meant “Guaranteed Ontime Delivery”. I cried the first time I saw the truck. Not because of the sign but what it meant to me. We were having a hard day and money was very tight. God was reminding me through this truck he is always on time! There was always a blessing by the time the day was done that encouraged my faith.

I can recall one time I went across town to get some art supplies from a favorite store. I parked the car and went in. The parking lot was bare. The store had closed. I had very little money left to get home. I walked back out feeling very discouraged.  I was pondering why I felt led to go to this store and they were closed. I have pretty good prophetic radar about every day decisions. My life is rarely just an accident in any thing I do. Next to my car in the parking lot was the truck “G.O.D”. I smiled and said thank you to God. When I got home, God had provided money and the things we need before the day was done. It was about trusting him and walking in faith.

“You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.”John 14:14

This truck blessed me no matter what anyone else may think. It was God way of letting me know he is watching over me. Sometime in our faith, we need to be reassures and comforted that we do have a God that cares! There are times in your faith you can feel like God is not there or answering your prayers. He has a way of showing us that he care and using what we can understand to show he is always there.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-5

My faith was greatly encouraged by my own personal understanding of the “G.O.D” truck. I can remember   driving back from DC in tears and fearful of the provision we needed to stay afloat. The “G.O.D” truck would fly by me out of nowhere. Or I would see it behind me and then it would pass by quickly. I saw this truck about 15 times that year. I have not seen it since. I know the company is still in business. I am sure I am not the only one that has encountered this truck. It encouraged me to trust God to be on time. God meets all my needs, even the ones I don’t know about. It is a faith walk. As believer it is our job to believe. That can get hard sometimes. It is not about going to church but walking with Jesus by faith. The problems we face can overwhelm us. We have to keep out eyes on. I began trusting more in God’s words. I was not offended by the trucking company’s bold attempt to declare their own service. It built up in my faith that God can use anything to let us know he is there. He may be speaking to you in your every day task through the smallest thing. Be encouraged in your trials. There is an answer to your problem. What he will do for you he has already done for someone else somewhere in the world. God is the repeat business in blessing!

And it is true- “Guaranteed On time Delivery”. God may not come when you want him, but he is always right on time. He takes care of his children. Every need is met in ways we don’t understand. He is faithful… Trust God to answer your prayers and show up on time. He is able. You have nothing to lose in believing in “G.O.D”, God’s guaranteed on time delivery in your life!

Leave a Reply

